X:REVIEWSCurrent ReviewsReviews A - ECroydon.2 Preliminary MappingCroydon-variance-map.jpg


The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are carrying out an electoral review of the London borough of Croydon.

Proposals – which relate only to council ward boundaries, NOT Parliamentary constituencies, would mean Croydon still have 70 councillors – with Upper Norwood ward becoming Crystal Palace and Upper Norwood ward.

Crystal Palace and Upper Norwood: We did not receive any submissions directly relating to this area, aside from the borough-wide schemes. The southern boundary of our proposed ward is similar to that proposed by both the council and the Labour group.

Our proposed warding pattern transfers Biggin Hill and the surrounding roads to the proposed Norbury Park ward. This was proposed as part of the submission by the Conservative group, and provides for better electoral equality overall.

Selhurst and South Norwood wards: We received one comment regarding this area, in addition to the borough-wide schemes. A local resident expressed concern that proposals did not account for the communities in the area, and requested a ward more joined up with the northern areas of the borough.

But this would have significant knock-on effects on the electoral equality across the borough. The Selhurst depot and the surrounding railway lines form a strong barrier, and we have therefore decided to draw the boundary between South Norwood and the proposed Selhurst ward along the railway line.

Our proposed South Norwood ward crosses the railway line in the north-east of the ward, by Norwood Junction railway station. If we had used the railway line in this area, South Norwood ward would have a variance of -21 per cent and the neighbouring Woodside ward would have a variance of 22pc.

We consider, having toured the area in question, that the area to the east of the railway has a strong road link to the western part of South Norwood and its inclusion in this ward provides for good levels of electoral equality. But we would welcome comments on these wards, and this inclusion in particular, during consultation on the draft recommendations.

North Croydon area (24 councillors): Three councilors: Crystal Palace & Upper Norwood; South Norwood; Thornton Heath; and Woodside.

Two councilors: Bensham Manor East; Bensham Manor West; Norbury & Pollards Hill; Norbury Park; Selhurst; West Thornton.

Croydon Central area (20): Three councilors: Addiscombe East; Addiscombe West & Park Hill; Broad Green; Central; Shirley North, and Waddon.

Two councilors: Shirley South.

South east Croydon area (14): Three councilors: Sanderstead; South Croydon.

Two councilors: New Addington North; New Addington South; Selsdon & Addington Village; Selsdon Vale & Forestdale.

South west Croydon: (12) Three councillors: Coulsdon Town; Purley & Woodcote.

Two councillors: Kenley; Old Coulsdon; Purley Oaks & Riddlesdown .

The Commission say: The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Croydon.

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is asking people across Croydon to comment on its draft proposals for new council ward boundaries.

An eight-week public consultation on the recommendations began on 14 March 2017 and will end on 8 May 2017. The consultation is open to anyone who wants to have their say on new council wards, ward boundaries and ward names across Croydon.

The Commission’s draft recommendations propose that the Croydon should have 70 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements. The recommendations also outline how those councillors should represent fourteen three-councillor wards and fourteen two-councillor wards across the borough.

The full recommendations and detailed interactive maps are available on the Commission’s website and

The Commission wants to hear as much evidence as possible to develop final recommendations for Croydon. If you would like to make a submission to the Commission, please write or email us by 8 May 2017:

The Review Officer (Croydon)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

14th floor, Millbank Tower




Have your say directly through the Commission’s consultation portal:

Link to the dedicated web page for the Croydon electoral review:



image map


X:REVIEWSCurrent ReviewsReviews A - ECroydon.2 Preliminary MappingCroydon-variance-map.jpg


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.