EDBROOKE GOES IN LAMBETH CABINET RESHUFFLE – Davie, Gadsby and ‘Credibility’ Wilson among newcomers

Cllr Jane Edbrooke, Lambeth’s cabinet member for children and young people, has lost her position on Lambeth council’s cabinet.

The list of new cabinet members, announced on the council’s website, gives no further details but a  very-delayed report to tonight’s annual Mayor-making and council meeting says Edbrooke will be the Labour group’s new chief whip.

Cllr Ed Davie, chairman of the council’s much-criticised overview and scrutiny committee joins the cabinet in a job-share position (see below). Former chief whip Cllr Paul Gadsby who was faced down by Cllr Rachel Heywood prior to her suspension from the Labour party, joins as new cabinet member for housing.

New deputy leaders are Cllr Jennifer Brathwaite and Cllr Jack Hopkins who replace former Cllrs Imogen Walker and Paul McGlone.

Lambeth Council Leader & Cabinet 2018-19

Cllr Lib Peck – The Leader of the Council

Cllr Jennifer Brathwaite – Deputy Leader (Children & Young People)

Cllr Jack Hopkins – Deputy Leader (Jobs, Skills & Performance)

Cllr Matthew Bennett – Cabinet Member for Planning, Investment & New Homes

Cllr Edward Davie & Jacqui Dyer – Cabinet Member for Health & Adult Social Care (job share)

Cllr Jim Dickson and Cllr Mohammed Seedat – Cabinet Member for the Voluntary Sector, Partnerships & Community Safety (job share)

Cllr Paul Gadsby – Cabinet Member for Housing

Cllr Claire Holland – Cabinet Member for Environment & Clean Air (inc recycling, enviro-crimes)

Cllr Andy Wilson – Cabinet Member for Finance

Cllr Sonia Winfred – Cabinet Member for Culture & Equalities (inc libraries and open spaces)

Deputy Cabinet Members

Deputy Cabinet Members are responsible for working closely with the appropriate Cabinet Member, undertaking specific projects to drive process in these areas and deputising where agreed.

Cllr Ben Kind – Leading on Schools

Cllr Jane Pickard – Leading on Youth & Play

Cllr Tina Valcarcel – Leading on Disability (Source: Love Lambeth website)

Last year’s cabinet:

Leader of the Council, Councillor Lib Peck

Deputy Leader of the Council (Finance and Resources), Councillor Imogen Walker

Deputy Leader of the Council (Investment and Partnerships), Councillor Paul McGlone

Cabinet Member for Planning, Regeneration and Jobs, Councillor Matthew Bennett

Cabinet Member for Children and Schools, Councillor Jane Edbrooke

Cabinet Member for Families and Young People, Councillor Jane Pickard

Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, Councillor Jackie Meldrum

Cabinet Member for Housing and Environment, Councillor Jennifer Brathwaite

Cabinet Member for Healthier and Stronger Communities (job-share), Councillor Jim Dickson

Cabinet Member for Healthier and Stronger Communities (job-share), Councillor Mohammed Seedat

Cabinet Member for Equalities and Culture, Councillor Sonia Winifred

Further reading: “I HAVEN’T CHANGED MY MIND”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.