Winsor report: “I fully respect the need for democratic oversight of policing. “It is also important that politicians respect due process and do not break the rules” – Dame Cressida’s response

MPS response to Sir Tom Winsor’s review on the departure of former Commissioner Cressida Dick

Acting Commissioner Sir Steve House said: “I welcome the publication of this report.

“I am pleased the Home Secretary was able to respond to my request for a review and I am grateful to Sir Tom Winsor for his thorough and impartial report.”

The following statement is released on behalf of Dame Cressida Dick:

Former Commissioner Cressida Dick said: “Leading the Met and serving the people of London was a wonderful privilege. My first priority was always their safety.

“I regret this report was necessary but I hope it will help create a sounder foundation for my successors.

“Sir Tom has written a highly detailed and forensic account of the circumstances surrounding my departure.

“He found the Mayor did not follow due process and at times his behaviour was oppressive, unreasonable, entirely unacceptable and unfair.

“At all times I sought to uphold the law and act ethically, with goodwill, professionalism, openness and trust, and in the best interests of the public.

“I fully respect the need for democratic oversight of policing. “It is also important that politicians respect due process and do not break the rules.

“I hope this report is an opportunity for others to reflect on how City Hall functions and is held to account.

“The Met is a fantastic police service that is admired across the world. It performs many important functions for London and the country. “Its officers and staff face many challenges.

“They can only succeed on a bedrock of independence and impartiality.” (Source: Met Police press release. Words placed in bold type by News From Crystal Palace)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.